The Cownship Council of York and Gaspe Bay South,

In 1842 the Townships of York and Gaspe Bay South, established a joint Council, that included Douglas West, Part of Haldimand West, Gaspe Harbour, York Center, Sunny Bank, Wakeham, Gaspe Basin, L'Anse-Aux-Cousins and Point Navarre. The first Mayor was Joseph E. Shaw, he was succeded in 1850 by John Wilson. James Perchard was Mayor in 1858, John Short in 1865 and George Dumaresq in 1870.

In 1866 York abandoned the Township Council and established a Municipal Council the first in the Bay of Gaspe, the York Council included the whole of the York Township. The first Mayor was James Fitzpatrick, he was succeeded in 1870 by Frederick Coffin and elected Mayor again in 1875. From 1879 to 1888 the records of Mayors are not available however here is a list of the York's Mayors since 1888.

1888 - 1897	William H. Patterson	1931 - 1935	H.S. Le Boutillier
1897 - 1912	C. Sutton Le Boutillier	1935 - 1937	Russell Coffin
1912 - 1913	Albert D. Patterson	1937 - 1943	John Tuzo
1913 - 1918	William Jones	1943 - 1953	.H.S. Le Boutillier
1918 - 1921	Oscar Grant	1953 - 1955	Wilson Miller
1921 - 1931	Elias Falle	1955 -	Harry Jones

York's 1958 Council.

Mayor - Harry Jones, Councillors - Elmer Patterson, Lionel Patterson, Melvin Patterson, Melvin Stewart, Kingsley Mullin and Reginald Suddard, Secretary - Daniel Price.

Population 825

On December 9th. 1873 Gaspe followed York in establishing a Municipal Council, that Council included Gaspe Village and L'anse-Aux-Cousins. The first Mayor was George Dumaresq, from 1875 to 1910 the records of Mayors are not available, but the old folks tell that it was a toss up between, Alfred Carter and Isidore Morin they were elected in turns for Mayor, during those years.

Here is a list of Gaspe's Mayors since 1910,

1910 - 1912	J. C. Calbourn	1923 - 1928	Lewis McKenzie
1912 - 1920	Alfred T. Carter	1928 - 1930	Kingsley J. Carter
1920 - 1922	A. D. Valpy	1930 - 1948	Charlie Davis
1922 - 1923	H. F. Calbourn	1948 -	J. Russell Keays

Gaspe's 1958 Council,

Mayor - J. Russell Keays, Councillors - Walter Kruse, Reginald Kruse, Wilfred Carter, Paul Blanchette, Marc-Auréle Fournier and Rock Roy, Secretary - Frederick Sams.

Population, 2,800 (Gaspe Village 2,624)

Early in 1874, The Gaspe Bay South and York Townships Council came to end. With Wakeham (Gaspe Bay South) and Point Navarre the only places left in the Old Council, They too Followed York and Gaspe in establishing a Municipal Council They kept the name Gaspe Bay South, that name is still used to-day. Their first Gouncil Meeting was held on February 2nd. 1874. Here is a list of Mayors of Gaspe Bay South since 1874.

1874 - 1884	Joseph Eden jr.	1903 - 1906	George Patterson
1884 - 1886	Abraham Coffin	1906 - 19	Arthur Eden
1886 - 1893	David Clark	1927 - 1930	Edward Vibert
1893 - 1898	George Coffin	1930 - 1935	Reginald Patterson
1898 - 1899	James Bechervaise	1935 - 1937	Frederick Patterson
1899 - 1900	William Patterson	1937 - 1957	Wilson J Boyle
1900 - 1903	Benjamin Patterson	1957 -	Whorwell Annett
	1958 Council of Gaspe Bay	South.	

Mayor - Whorwell Annett, Councillors - Henry Miller, Charle Palmer,
Lloyd Annett, Edward Hamilton, Samuel Mullin and Joachim Bouchard, Secretary Norman Tait.

Population 1,228

The Township Council of Gaspé Bay North

The Township Council of Gaspé Bay North, was established in 1845. It encluded Cape-Aux-Os, Peninsula, Farewell Cove, Rosebridge, Fontenelle and Cortoreal. The records of this Council and the Manicipal Councils of Peninsula and Cape-Aux-OS are not available. However the Municipal Council of Sydenham South, was established September 7th.1921. Sydenham CSouthlCouncil included Ville St. Pierre, Fontenelle and Cortoreal.

Here is a list of Sydenham South First Council. (1921)

Mayor-J. Evariste Fournier, Councillors-Ludge Fournier, Fabien Fournier, Ceasire Fortin, Leo Kenney, George Cassive and Gideon Fournier, Secretary-Daniel Adams.

Here is a list of Sydenham South Mayors since 1921.

	_				_	
1921 - 1925	J.	Evariste	Fournier	1939 - 1941	Leo E	enney

1925 - 1931 Ludger Fournier 1941 - 1949 J. Evariste Fournier

1931 - 1937 J. Evariste Fournier 1949 - 1957 Raymond Fournier

1937 - 1939 Auguste Fournier 1957 - Manzel Langdots

1937 - U Sydenham South 1958 Council

Mayor- Manzel Langlois, Councillors- Oscar Fournier, Placide Fournier, Amandis: Adams, Ernest Basque, Gérard Langlois and Leonard Diotte, Secretary-Donat Fournier.

Population 971

6_____

The Township Council of Cape-des-Rosiers.

The only records available of the Township Council of Cape-des-Rosiers, is that the Council was established in 1845. This Council included Griffon Cove, Jersey Cove, Cape-des-Rosiers, Cape Gaspé, Indian Cove, Grande Greve, Little Gaspé, Seal Rock and part of Cape-Aux-Os.

In 1895 The Township Council was abandoned and two Municipal Councils established, St. Alban's that included Cape-des-Rosiers, Jersey Cove and Griffon Cove and Cape-des-Rosiers' that included Cape Gaspé, Indian Cove, Grande Greve, Little Gaspé, Seal Rock and part of Cape-Aux-Os. In 1944 Cape-des-Resiers Council changed its name to that of Grande Greve. The part of Cape-Aux-Os no longer belongs to the Council of Grande Greve, that community established its own Municipal Council several years ago.

Here is a list of Grande Greve's Mayors since 1892

Isaac Hyman	1933 - 1943	Daniel Price
Cyrille Cassive	1943 - 1947	Walter Roberts
Isaac Hyman	1947 - 1948	Arthur Minchinton
Moses Simon	1948 - 1950	Percy Roberts
Alfred W. Dolbell	1950 - 1954	Irvin Simon
Alfred Jones	1954 - 1956	Elwood Dow
Moses Simon	1956 -	Percy Roberts
Alfred Jones		
	Cyrille Cassive Isaac Hyman Moses Simon Alfred W. Dolbell Alfred Jones Moses Simon	Cyrille Cassive 1943 - 1947 Isaac Hyman 1947 - 1948 Moses Simon 1948 - 1950 Alfred W. Dolbell 1950 - 1954 Alfred Jones 1954 - 1956 Moses Simon 1956 -

Population of 1958-946.